Issue Brief on “Modi 3.0 and the Future of India-Pakistan Relations”


On 9 June 2024, Mr. Narendra Modi took oath as India’s Prime Minister for the third consecutive term. Mr. Modi is the second Prime Minister of India to win consecutive third term after Jawaharlal Nehru.[1] Apart from other invited guests, the ceremony was attended by leaders from South Asia and other states including  Prime Minister of Bangladesh Sheikh Hasina; President of Sri Lanka Ranil Wickremesinghe; Prime Minister of Nepal Pushpa Kamal Dahal; Maldives President Mohamed Muizzu; Prime Minister of Bhutan Tshering Tobgay; Seychelles Vice-President Ahmed Afif; and Mauritius Prime Minister Pravind Kumar Jugnauth.[2] No invitation was extended to Pakistan. If anything, the absence of any representative from Pakistan is illustrative of the likely trajectory of India-Pakistan relations in the coming years.

Read More