Issue Brief on “State Elections in India: A Glimpse into 2019 General Elections”


The beginning of the year 2017 saw five Indian states namely, Goa, Manipur, Punjab, Uttar Pradesh and Uttarakhand going for Legislative Assembly elections from February 4-March 8 2017. The results were announced on March 11, 2017.

The results showed Congress emerging as a lead party in Punjab and taking first place in Goa and Manipur closely followed by BJP, whereas BJP took a convincing lead in Uttarakhand and Uttar Pradesh (UP). Though BJP landed second position in Goa and Manipur, but these results are still significant considering the fact that previously, BJP was hardly present in Manipur.

Read More